Tasty Mind Morsels

Nibbles and Bits for your Mind/Body/Soul Palate

November 1, 2011 November 1, 2011

Filed under: Clothing/Accessories,Recipes,Yoga — Kristin Eline @ 5:36 pm
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

So yesterday was Halloween! If I had written a blog yesterday, it most definitely would have been about all things spooky that bring me happiness…like scary (not gory) movies…El Dio de Los Muertos celebrations… cemeteries…Halloween-inspired yoga classes…(last night we howled like werewolves in Ubhaya Padangusthasana!)

Focusing on today…a few things come to mind that have brought me happiness in the past twenty-four hours…

1.) Newborn babies in crocheted beanies.

Perusing through Etsy a couple of months ago for gift ideas for a newborn (namely, for my niece, Molly) I happened across an account that sold handmade, crocheted beanies for…newborns. My niece’s “arrival date” was quickly approaching so I decided to purchase a beanie (à la ladybug) for Molly.

 I finally received the beanie several weeks later (the woman who made the beanie had a backorder of 250 or so!) and gifted it to my six week-old niece. Here it is!

If this does not bring you happiness..........what will!?

2.) Wearing UGGs to work (when I can).

There are some blessed days that I get to wear whatever I want to work (these are the days when I work alone and do not have anyone scheduled to come into the office). I usually go all out and wear ::drumroll:: my super-mega-comfortable UGGs. It’s the little things that get you through the work day.

3.) Spicy, Homemade, Vegan Enchiladas.

I have a new recipe to share! I recently made a batch of six, vegan enchiladas for dinner (enough for a few night’s-worth of dinners for deux). The original recipe at which I looked was called “Time Crunch Vegan Enchiladas” (apparently inspired by Susan V’s Black Bean and Summer Squash Enchiladas). Phew!

One thing I have discovered about vegan cooking (especially baking!) is that for some reason, vegans insist on putting beans into EVERYTHING. I have to put my foot down, vegan brethren: Not every recipe needs to include beans. There do not need to be beans in cookies or brownies or cupcakes. It ruins them. Use flour. Be creative. Step away from the bean from time to time.

That being said…I decided to ditch the black beans altogether (mostly out of defiance, as I had black beans on hand) and replaced them with three crumbled up Field Roast vegan sausages (I used the Italian style: seasoned with eggplant, red wine, garlic and fennel). Yes, I know, “Italian-style sausage in a traditionally Mexican dish?” Field Roast does make a Mexican Chipotle-style vegan sausage, but I did not have that one on hand. Bummer. Next time! 🙂

I chose these sausages over the pre-crumbled vegan “meat” sold by Morning Star Farms or BOCA because the “meat” is more thoroughly seasoned and is more moist, even after cooking.

So…replacing “Time-Crunch’s” beans with vegan sausage, I followed this recipe:

Ingredients:

  • 2 16 oz. cans organic tomato sauce
  • 1 sweet bell pepper, roughly chopped in food processor
  • 1 zucchini, roughly chopped in food processor
  • 1 small, yellow onion, roughly chopped in food processor
  • 3 garlic cloves, sliced
  • 3 Field Roast vegan sausages, crumbled (this gets messy…sorry!)
  • 2 Tbsp Olive oil
  • Harissa chili paste (I just kept putting this into the sauce until it was as spicy as I wanted it to be)
  • 2 tsp chili powder (again, I wanted spicier than “Time-Crunch’s” recipe
  • sea salt to taste
  • 1 tsp lime juice
  • 1 tsp nutritional yeast (this stuff is amazing)
  • Daiya 3-cheese shredded cheese (optional)
  • 6 flour tortillas (I’m not going to kid myself, whole grain tortillas? Really? No. I want something that won’t crumble. I chose locally-made, lo-carb flour tortillas – ingredients: flour, water, vegetable oil)
  • For the Vegan Cheese Topping: 8 tbsp humus, 3 tsp almond/soy milk, 1 tsp nutritional yeast – thoroughly mixed. If it won’t drizzle, add some more almond/soy milk.
  • 3 thinly-sliced green onions for garnish
Directions :
  • Preheat oven to 350F. 
  • Throw chopped onion and garlic into a large pan with olive oil and heat until translucent (about 5 minutes on medium heat – don’t want to burn the garlic!) Add chopped pepper, zucchini, sausage crumbles, 1 can of tomato sauce, Harissa chili paste and chili powder to pan and cook for another few minutes or until the sauce begins to reduce. Add nutritional yeast, sea salt and lime juice and cook for another few minutes. Then take pan off heat source. 
  • Take a large baking dish and put remaining can of tomato sauce on bottom of dish. Take tortillas and lay flat. Ladle mixture in pan (about 3 Tbsp’s worth) into the center of each tortilla. Sprinkle the Daiya three-cheese shredded cheese on top if you wish. Wrap and place each enchilada fold-down into baking dish in a line. 
  • Cover enchiladas with remaining mixture from the pan. 
  • *** At this point I just drizzled the “vegan cheese” mixture made of humus on to the enchiladas and put the whole shebang into the oven. ***
  • Place enchiladas into oven uncovered for about 18 minutes.
  • Pull enchiladas out of oven and sprinkle with green onion. Serve immediately. 

Finished product!

Serves: 6
Ingredient Prep Time: 15 minutes (with food processor!)
Cook Time: 10 minutes (to make filling and  “vegan cheese”)
Bake Time: 18-20 minutes
Total:  45 minutes (although,  with two people pitching in and the right music playing in the background, it can take about 35 minutes)

 

5 Responses to “November 1, 2011”

  1. Erik Troughton's Tardis Runnels Says:

    Hey Kristabel, this looks amazing!! Yummy in spades. How many calories is it out of curiosity. Also, out of curiosity, does Vegan mean no eggs? How about cheese or milk? I’m just wondering because – outside of beans – how does one get protein? Is tofu high protein? Whatever … this looks fantastic!

    • Amatistrad Says:

      Hello Erik!

      Vegan means no animal product – including eggs and dairy…some vegans also do not eat honey as it is ALSO an animal product (I don’t believe I’ll go that far…although Agave is an acceptable substitute for honey…still not the same.)

      I’m actually unsure of the nutritional content of this recipe…
      The sausages’ nutritional content is 25 gm protein – all grain-based. http://www.fieldroast.com/fieldroast_sausages.pdf

      Add nutritional content of the various veggies and tomato sauce I used…

      The Nutritional Yeast’s nutritional content is 8 gm protein per 2 tablespoons. http://nutritiondata.self.com/facts/custom/1323565/2?mbid=enews_nd0809

      The hummus is usually pretty minimal in cal’s and fat, esp. since it is just a topping. You can control how much or how little you put onto your enchiladas.

      The Daiya cheese – if you choose to use it – http://www.daiyafoods.com/products/pepperjack.asp

      There are a few ways to get protein outside of beans…quinoa is a grain which is higher in protein content (about 8-9 gm/cup). Nuts and grains and tofu/seitan/tempeh products (made mostly from soy or grains) are sufficient sources of protein for people. Here’s an interesting link for you to check out in regards to the proper amount of protein you should be taking in per day (barring specific doctor’s orders, of course!):
      http://www.vrg.org/nutrition/protein.htm

      It’s also important, as a vegetarian/vegan to pair your proteins with amino acids. This pairing creates a complex protein (the kind of protein found in animal meat). Corn, Potatoes, Tofu and rice are good sources of amino acids. If you look at the quantities listed in that link…you may think, “wow…I’ll have to eat a LOT of food to get the complex proteins I need every day…isn’t it just easier to eat meat, instead?” That’s every individual’s choice. 🙂

      Personally, I need around 60 gm protein/day. This is TOTALLY manageable as long as I eat three-five times per day. And although I’m a little against supplements, if I feel I cannot ingest the proper amount of amino acids in a day, I’ll take an amino acid supplement (I rarely need to do this) so that my digestive system doesn’t have to work overtime 😉

  2. Cancer Cures Says:

    It is little doubt that this is the best singer in the country! What makes a singer isn’t their appearance, it’s their voice! I don’t like when people judge singers on things that just aren’t that vital. Remember, they are entertainers, not presidents! Let them do their stuff and enjoy the music!

  3. Miss H Says:

    LOVE the Beanie!


Leave a Reply

